What can we help you find?


The One Health Initiative: Team Aims and Activities

November 30, 2019

By Bruce Kaplan, DVM, Dipl. AVES (Hon.)

Drs. Laura H. Kahn, Bruce Kaplan, and Thomas P. Monath (pictured below) joined together in 2006 and found the One Health Initiative. They established the OHI website in October 2008 which used to be known as “The International Clearing House for Significant One Health information” and by some the “New York Times of One Health”. Up-to-date One Health news, publications, events and postings relative to animal, human and environmental health have been published in the website to strengthen the world-wide circulation of One Health news. Currently, the website is estimated to be accessed each month by thousands of individual visitors from over 160 countries.

The OHI team works closely with the American Veterinary Epidemiology Society (AVES), American Association of Public Health Physicians (AAPHP), One Health Commission (OHC), One Health Platform (OHP)and others to promote and advance recognition of the One Health concept/approach in the U.S. and worldwide. For instance, an early example of OHI team collaborative achievements was the June 2007 landmark American Medical Association (AMA) One Health resolution which was was primarily drafted by Dr. Kahn at the bequest of the late AMA President and great One Health advocate Dr. Ronald Davis. Drs. Monath and Kaplan has assisted as well.

Left to right: [the late] Ronald M. Davis, MD, President AMA, Roger K. Mahr, DVM, President, American Veterinary Medical Association and Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP of Princeton University.

As in previous One Health Congresses, the OHI team has participated in the 6thWorld One Health Congress meeting in Edinburgh Scotland June 14-18, 2010 via serving on the OHP organizing committee.

The One Health Initiative Autonomous pro bono Team currently includes three physicians, three veterinarians and one PhD health scientist. These are Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP, Bruce Kaplan, DVM, Thomas P. Monath, MD, Lisa A. Conti, DVM, MPH, Thomas M. Yuill, PhD, Helena J. Chapman, MD, MPH, PhD, Craig N. Carter, DVM, PhD.

For more information about the OHI click here.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter